Review: Bourjois Rouge Velvet Edition in 08

 

DSC_0433

For quite a while now the trend has been with lipsticks-that-are-not-really-lipsticks, whether they’re called lacquer or ink, and I’ve been on the look to try one of those for quite a long time. As my sister spoilt me rotten for my birthday, I got to pick one and after swatching a few  in the shop I opted for the Bourjois Rouge Velvet Edition. Unlike the others it didn’t feel sticky at all but had a rather smooth formula that intrigued me a little.

Bourjois’ website says that with a smooth and fluid texture transforming into a matte velvety finish it feels like ‘second skin’ without drying your lips.

 

After first application.

After first application.

I was surprised by the formula at first, it’s very different from everything I’ve tried before, not creamy but really smooth and definitely not sticky. The applicator isn’t bad and does the job, I have pretty irregular lips but didn’t have too many touch-ups to do.
Be sure you’re not using too much product as it would get on your teeth, I did the first time but it was easy to correct the second time, the color is also very vibrant and completely opaque so you don’t need much.
If you have dryer lips you can apply it on top of a layer of lip balm as the formula dries after some time. It feels really nice on the lips though and doesn’t cling on dry skin at all, after the formula dried a little I still didn’t feel like my lips were getting super dry.

DSC_0419

After 5 hours.

 

This second picture was taken 5 hours after the initial application and after a lot of eating and drinking.
As you can see there’s nowhere near as much colour as in the first picture, but it is still showing a little and my lips don’t look too dry.
I think an application could go a long way if you don’t eat/drink and if you do, re-applying a thin layer afterwards should make it look perfect again!
It does transfer quite a lot after the application but not so much once it has dried a little and I could eat and drink without getting it everywhere.

All in all I’m pretty impressed with this product. If you’re looking for a long lasting, comfortable bold matte color, this is probably for you!

4 thoughts on “Review: Bourjois Rouge Velvet Edition in 08

Leave a comment